Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

2012 was a tough year, though my academic life was good my personal life was a bit harder. Two of my family members passed away this year and my daughter has been steadily getting worse with her autoimmune conditions.

There is a meme going around Facebook at the moment that basically says that I will not hope that 2013 is a good year, I will make 2013 a great year. I think this is a good way to think about it. You make your own luck by creating and seizing opportunities. I wish more people understood this, you can’t wait for opportunities to present them you need to go find them. In 2012 I made two exceptional opportunities for myself: first I set up my PhD project (with guidance from my supervisors, of course) and I did some exceptional work that should end up in a journal this year.

My two new year’s resolutions are to quit drinking and to go vegan.  The drinking is a crutch that I am using to deal with the stress in my life and I need to just stop using it. The vegan thing is a bit more complicated, I have been thinking about it for a long time and the more that I research animal welfare conditions for the majority of the food industry, the ecological impact of raising and transporting meat all over the world (why do they ship lamb from New Zealand to the UK?) I have come to the conclusion that I don’t want to be part of it any more.

I hope you have a fantastic new year and that you can make it the best one ever. Please feel free to leave a comment about what you plan to accomplish this year.

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

